The Top 4 Uses Of The Word “Fuck” In PG-13 Movies

I don’t know if you guys are hip to the fact that PG-13 films are allowed the use of one “fuck” per film, but that’s the case. Of course, you’ve got films like The Social Network shirking that trend, and using upwards of 2 “fuck”s. But I’m sure films without such prestige will be delegated the normal grading curve.

Today we’re going to go over the Top 4 greatest uses of the word “fuck” in said films, and find out which films made the most with their limitations.

Crazy Stupid Love
July 29th, 2011

It’s not common for me to dig romantic comedies. It’s not because I’m one of those “oh fuck that love crap! gimmie a beer!” kinda guys. I just find the writing is lazy, predictable, and boring. Sure, most action movies follow a formula, but at least that formula is entertaining. However, once in a while there will be a romantic comedy that I really dig, and Crazy Stupid Love is one of those. In the scene in question, Ryan Gosling’s character is trying to seduce Emma Stone at his place, and she asks him to take his shirt off. Now, most guys who are as gorgeous as him, don’t feel the need to work on his  body. He is not one of those, as he takes off his shirt, we get;

Hannah: FUCK

How awesome is that? There’s such defeat, and disbelief in her voice because not only is the guy gorgeous, but he’s ripped. It was a really awesome moment that actually made me laugh out loud, especially since I knew about the PG-13 rule, and thought their placement was absolutely perfect.

Billy Madison
February 10th, 1995

When I was in 6th grade, there was no film greater than Billy Madison. I absolutely loved it. I’d come home from school and watch it first thing, then later that night I’d watch it again. To this date, I’ve probably seen it 75 times or so. At one point I was able to recite the entire film from beginning to end. I don’t know why I was so obsessed with it, but I was. Now, the reason it’s on this list is because of a moment that takes place when Billy starts out in Elementary School. His teacher is reading the class “The Puppy Who Lost His Way”. After she finishes, Billy has a beef.

Billy Madison:  Whoa whoa whoa, Miss Lippy. The part of the story I don’t like is that the little boy gave up looking for Happy after an hour. He didn’t put posters up or anything, he just sat on the porch like a goon and waited. That little boy’s gotta think ‘You got a pet. You got a responsibility.’ If your dog gets lost you don’t look for an hour then call it quits. You get your ass out there and you find that fucking dog.

Absolutely brilliant, and was my number one seed for years and years. He’s in a class full of kids, and has no beef with screaming fuck. I mean, he doesn’t just say fuck, he YELLS it. Like he wants to hate-fuck the F word. It’s completely awesome, and catches you off guard.

220px-Catch_Me_If_You_Can_2002_movieCatch Me If You Can
December 25th, 2002

Not only does this film place in this Top list, but it also places in my Top 10 all time favorites.  This was the film that showed DiCaprio was way past that Teen Beat bullshit, and could be one hell of an actor.  Tom Hanks is Tom Hanks, and brings the pain every time. It’s entertaining and inspiring to see this teenager get over on all these professionals, and fleece the Government for millions of dollars. I’m impressionable, so for my own safety I never watch this & Fight Club in the same day.

The reason this film places is for Tom Hank’s character, Carl Hanratty. He’s a cardboard, white-bread FBI agent who’s about as boring as anything that hack Chuck Lorre has ever been involved with.  He’s riding around with a couple of other agents who are discussing the how predictable Hanratty is, and his penchant for being bland. So, as a way to prove he can be other-wise, he tells them a joke.

Hanratty: Knock knock
Amdursky: Who’s there?
Hanratty: Go fuck yourselves

Fucking brilliant.

X-Men: First Class
June 3rd, 2011

The X-Men were always some of my favorite comics as a kid. Sure, we’d always had teams in the world of comics, but I never thought any were as cool as The X-Men. The blended personalities as well as powers were just too damn cool. I also loved the idea of one team of mutants trying to co-exist, and help mankind, while the others feel there is no hope for a shared society, and seek to destroy all those that are different. Ironic, considering that’s what the humans who are more on the side of intolerant want to do. Like every child, and, hell, like every adult, my favorite was Wolverine. He was a surly bad-assed that left no doubt to how burly he was with his muscle and body-hair. So, when First Class hit, I was stoked but at the same time I was bummed that Logan wouldn’t be involved. Of course, the team that put this film together not only gave us Wolverine, but Wolverine at his best. As Xavier & Charles are out looking for mutants to join their new team, they come across our boy at a bar, before they can give the pitch, Wolverine has their answer;

Wolverine: Go fuck yourself.

Absolutely perfect. It encapsulated everything about Wolverine in 3 short words, as well as working as an awesome surprise. It just goes to show that there’s nothing better than a well placed “fuck”.

~ by Caliber Winfield on March 30, 2012.

7 Responses to “The Top 4 Uses Of The Word “Fuck” In PG-13 Movies”

  1. Fuck PG-13 movies

  2. Bruce Almighty, “I’m Bruce Nolan for Eyewitness news, back to you, Fuckers!”

  3. The movie ‘Date Night’ is rated PG-13 but manages two fucks. At the beginning of the movie, Kristen Wiig’s character says “best fucking decision I ever made” and towards the end, Steve Carrell tells Mark Wahlberg to “put on a fucking shirt.”

  4. When I first started reading this, that scene with Wolverine from First Class, was the first thing that I thought of.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

