The People’s Reviews: WWE’s Best PPV Matches 2009-2010 – Disc 1 & 2

WWE’s Best of PPV Matches 2009-2010

I’m really jazzed that WWE is doing a lot of Best-Of. I live for Best-Of. This set is especially nice because of how broke I’ve been for the last year I haven’t been able to buy the PPV DVDs, thus I haven’t been able to see them. So, when I heard about this, I got a DVD boner. Which is a regular boner. But instead of me getting a boner over Anne Hathaway, it’s over the thought of two guys, shirtless, playing grab-ass.

Disc 1 –

Last Man Standing for the World Heavy Weight Championship: John Cena [C] vs. Edge
Place: Backlash 2009
Duration: 28:25
Right here you’ve got the pick for my Match of the Year. I’ve already reviewed this during my Backlash 2009 review, but I never mind having a second go around. The only problem I have with most LMS matches these days is that it isn’t wrestling, wrestling, hit a big move, then wait for the count. It’s clothesline. Count. Body slam. Count. It can get boring. However, although they do it here, they use it as a tool, but not the work bench. It’s classic Cena, tearing the roof apart in the main event. The ending is without a doubt the greatest ending to a LMS ever, and one of the Top 5 greatest endings ever.
Rating: * * * * 3/4th

ECW Championship: Jack Swagger [C] vs. Christian
Place: Backlash 2009
Duration: 11:00
Oh yeah, baby. The opening bout of Backlash 2009 really set the pace of one of the greatest PPVs ever. I liked how the ending showcased the edge that being a veteran can bring. A year later, Swagger is World Heavy Weight Champ, and Christian is not. That very much needs to be reversed, and not just because of how bad-ass that shirt with Christian’s image is.
Rating: * * * * 1/4th [yup, bumped it up from my original]

World Heavy Championship Match: Edge vs. Jeff Hardy
Place: Judgment Day 2009
Duration: 19:11
Oh man. I did not expect this going in. I’ve seen their ladder match a couple times, and it’s great, but only 4 star great. So I assumed they wouldn’t fair much better in a regular match. Holy shit was I wrong. They tear it up, non-stop. An excellent back and forth battle that thankfully saw Edge win clean. I’m all about heels cheating to win, but to make them look strong they need a clean one here and there, and Edge made that shit happen.
Rating: * * * * 1/2th

Mask vs. Intercontinental Title Match: Chris Jericho [C] vs. Rey Mysterio
Place: The ‘Bash 2009
Duration: 15:42
This bad boy doesn’t deserve to be at the bottom of The Great American Bash. This deserves to be in the main event of Wrestlemania. This match is absolutely incredible. I’ve heard about it for almost a year now, and usually matches don’t live up to the hype, this one went beyond the hype for me. This was a massive epic. Fluid moves, flawless spots, and seamless counters make this an all-time great. I thought it wouldn’t get better than their bout at Extreme Rules, but it’s gold Jerry, gold!
Rating: * * * * *

6-Pack Challenge for the US Championship: Kofi Kingston [C] vs. MVP vs. T
he Miz vs. Jack Swagger vs. Carlito vs. Primo
Place: Night of Champions 2009
Duration: 8:28
You know, my brother was all gassed up about this match, and then I saw it made the cut so I figured it was going to be some to behold. Meh. A lot of great wrestlers here, but just not a lot of greatness going on. Perhaps with a few more watches I’ll dig it, but right now, it isn’t blowing me away.
Rating: * * * 1/4th

That’s it for disc 1. With every match exceeding 4 stars, except one, it’s an absolute fucking smash of a disc.

Disc 2-

Triple Threat Match for the WWE Championship: Randy Orton [C] vs. Triple H vs. John Cena
Place: Night of Champions 2009
Duration: 22:19
Goddamn this match is fantastic. The only complaint I had from the original bout was that it was too short, but they tacked on an extra 8 or so minutes here and really brought the goods. They went full tilt the whole time, and never ruined the steam of the match. There were a ton of points where you’d think it was about to be over, but then a save would be made and we’d be back on track. I thought this would be just as good as the original, but I didn’t think it’d exceed it by this much. Absolutely incredible.
Rating: * * * * 3/4th

Intercontinental Championship: Rey Mysterio [C] vs. Dolph Ziggler
Place: Summerslam 2009
Duration: 12:22
Man, Rey was on fucking fire. It’s a shame he became injured, because he was truly bringing prestige back to the IC title, having incredible bouts all over the place, and this, was no exception. I’ve never seen much of Ziggler, so I didnt know what to expect, but he more than picked up his own slack. Awesome match, enough said
Rating: * * * *

TLC Match for the World Heavyweight Championship: Jeff Hardy [C] vs. CM Punk
Place: Summerslam 2009
Duration: 21:31
You can’t fuck up a TLC, end of story. This was awesome. We had high flying, we had brawling, people getting smashed with chairs and pushed through tables. An excellent swan song for Hardy to go out on, the last spot made him look like a total badass after he got back up to try and stop Punk. I can’t say enough about this match, and I’m sure with repeat viewings I’ll end up rating it higher.
Rating: * * * * 1/2th

I Quit Match for the WWE Championship: Randy Orton [C] vs. John Cena
Place: Breaking Point 2009
Duration: 19:48
Yeeeah, baby. Once again, Cena brings the goods in a main event that was entertaining, original, and fucking brutal. Orton was in top form here, being a total snake and doing whatever he could to destroy Cena. Seeing those slashes on John’s chest and ribs really brought the brutality of it out full force. Once the tides were turned, it was great to see Orton panic while Cena loses his mind and goes nuts. I would have liked to see Orton last a little longer, and that’s my only complaint, really.
Rating: * * * * 1/2th

The lowest rating on disc 2 is 4 stars. So, needless to say, it’s the kind of disc you’d wanna bring home to mom.

With the first two discs being practically flawless, one would assume that the 3rd would be the happy ending. Or is it an assumed happy ending, but it turns out to be a Police sting and now you’re in the back of a cop car with blue balls? We’ll find out…

~ by Caliber Winfield on May 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
