Minute Man Reviews….The Avengers

This film is really the first of it’s kind, bringing characters from other films, but of the same canon, together. I wasn’t that stoked for it, because I was never into The Avengers. I was never into Iron Man, Captain America, or Thor for that matter. Spider-Man, The Fantastic 4, and The Punisher were my bread & butter. However, those that didn’t win me over in comic book form, sure as hell did in film. Iron Man 2 is one of my favorite comic films, and Captain America brought the goods that 2 other decades of films couldn’t. Thor was nothing to scoff at either. So, with that, I thought The Avengers had a pretty good shot.

The one thing I thought might hinder The Avengers, was the simple question; what bad guy is a big enough problem to warrant all of them? I mean, Iron Man took out Whiplash & his army by himself. Hulk took out Abomination, Captain America defeated Red Skull & his army. So, thankfully, they actually gave The Avengers a huge enough deal to warrant all of them. Loki was great, and was brought to life perfectly, as it’s exatcly how I imagined him as a kid who’d see Loki on the trading cards, or guest spotting in comics. His inter-dementional army was pretty viscous, and seemingly endless.

The actors all brought it, as usual. I would have liked to see Ed Norton reprise the role of Bruce Banner, but I have no complaints with Mark Ruffalo taking up the mantel. Plus, they kept the tradition of Lou voicing The Hulk, and that’s damn awesome.

The action scenes are honestly second to none in any film I’ve seen in a good long while. It all took place smack dab in the middle of New York City, without ever taking a breather. Truly, every level was covered in battle. Iron Man took to the skys, with Hawkeye on the roof-tops, The Hulk busting ass in the buildings,and Captain America, Thor & Black Widow bringing up the rear by karate chopping bad-guys on the street. There was even a moment that I assume was paying homage to the speeder bike scene from Return of the Jedi. The special effects are the absolute pinnacle of what modern technology can deliver, and I can’t imagine effects getting any better. They were stunning.

Joss has finally broken out of Buffy’s shadow, and delivered one hell of a film. A film I’d be willing to bet some will call Marvel’s best offering. While I can’t agree with that statement, I can’t argue against it too strongly.

Batman has some competition.

****3/4 out of 5

~ by Caliber Winfield on April 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
