The only review of The Amazing Spider-Man that you’ll ever need

I love Spider-Man. I have ever since I can remember, to be honest. Even at 28, I still have a Spider-Man bathrobe, bath mat, keychain, and I brush my Spider-Teeth with a Spider-Man tooth brush.

After I saw the under-rated Spider-Man 3 in theaters, I thought I’d probably be well into my 30’s before I saw another film with Spidey. So, it was much to my shock, and I’ll admit, horror, that I found out they were already planning a reboot of the series. I didn’t have too much confidence in the whole project at first, but once things started to come together, I came around to it.

The film obviously reboots the whole series, but it doesn’t follow the same story exactly. There’s no wrestling match, there’s no real chance to stop the bad-guy, there’s no “with great power comes great responsibility”. We get Peter back in highschool, we have him being brilliant as well as bullied, and of course we have the spider bite. Now, with some super hero films, you’re just waiting for the costume to come around, and for our hero to start kicking ass. However, with TASM, Andrew Garfield & Emma Stone are damn entertaining & charismatic to the point where you’re interested in watching them interact, and seeing where their story goes. I also like how they make it seem that Peter becoming Spider-Man was practically his birthright, his fate. How Dr. Conners becomes The Lizard is well done too, because the two actually share a bit of the same origins, where as in most comic book films, the bad-guy just happens to come along by chance. Where’s here, the hero & the villain are born of the same vein.

My favorite moment of the whole film is when Peter has realized what’s going on, heads to a warehouse to sort out things, and find out just what he’s capable of. There’s a fantastic song by Coldplay being played called Kingdom Come, that’s a gorgeous song that frames a beautiful scene. Peter’s realizing just what these powers can do and what they mean, and for me, that’s what Spider-Man was all about as a kid. It’s about growing up, and learning about yourself, and what you’re capable of. Your talents & abilities, and just what you should do with them. What they can do for you, and for others. This scene captures that feeling perfectly.

They really nailed Spider-Man’s character in this film. Having him build the webshooters was great, and something I really felt was missing from the original series. His humor, and want to show off and toy with the bad-guys was something that he loved to do at the beginning of the original series, and something I’m glad they made sure to put in. Because hell, what teenager wouldn’t act like that? Having him destroy things when he first gains his power was a brilliant idea, and something we’d never seen in any of the other films. A very original idea that helped to flesh this series into it’s own, as opposed to just another attempt at box-office records.

A lot of people want to complain about The Lizard, but I had no problem with it. Dr. Conners was great, portraying someone who had an anger and resentment below the surface by the fact that others had something he didn’t, and that he kept coming so close to success, but always fell short. Once he became the Lizard, he was drunk with the power it gave him, and felt he’d be a God of sorts if he himself ushered in the new evolution of man.

There’s a ton of great cinematography, with massive shots of the city, wide, sweeping landscapes, and incredible shots of Spider-Man flowing through the city, as well as POV shots that give you a spider’s eye view. The battle scenes were just as good as anything else in the film. They were fast & fluid, with Spider-Man being truly out matched,  narrowly escaping death by a 1/16th of an inch, wand The Lizard getting closer with each attempt. Naturally, some people want to complain about the CGI, but if it was a guy in a suit, they’d complain about that too. So, fuck’em.

If I have any complaints about the film, it’s that Parker gives away the fact he’s Spider-Man too often. I mean, the basketball ordeal. Throwing the football that bends the goal post. Web-slinging down town without a mask. C’mon. If I’d seen any of that, I would have pieced it together pretty quick. But honestly, that’s really my only gripe.

In the end, Spider-Man has always done one thing; make me want to be the best man that I can be. For myself, and for others. This film reassured that fact, as well as show you what can lay ahead for a hero. What prices one may have to pay when they’re given a gift. Spidey has always influenced me to be the better man for myself, and for those around me. Hopefully this film will influence a whole new generation of kids to do the same. If not, well, there’s always The Punisher.

****3/4 out of 5

~ by Caliber Winfield on July 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
