No BS Fitness – Issue #1 – Motivation & Hard To Be Humble Beginnings

nobullshitfitnessheader

Something I’ve been wanting to do for a while now is an article series on fitness/body-building/exercise, and all of that good business. Well, lately I’ve been getting a few emails from people asking me about this or that regarding working out, so I decided now was as good a time as any to start the series.

When I was 16 I got my license. In turn, all of my friends and I started driving around everywhere as opposed to the walking we were once use to. We also discovered the joy of a burger from Wendy’s known as the Triple Stack w/ bacon. I was eating at least 3 a week, and naturally, I got pretty big. I eventually got up to around 220lbs, which is fairly big on a 5″9 frame at 18. Around 19-20, the 2004 Punisher film came out, and that inspired your boy. I finally started hitting the weights & running 1-2 miles a day. I also changed my diet. No more fast food, no more bullshit. A lot of egg-whites, skinless-boneless chicken, oatmeal, and protein. I didn’t put on much muscle because I was constricting my calories, but I dropped weight like crazy. I eventually got down to 172lbs, which for me is damn thing, as I’m a stocky type of guy.

Eventually I got myself a girlfriend, and put on the ‘happy relationship’ weight that happens to some people. Over this time, my adult muscle kicked in, and I finally obtained the body I was going to have the rest of my life. The following image will showcase the three body-types that a person falls into. Knowing your type will go a long way into helping you reach your goals.

bodytypes
Ectomorph – Also known as hardgainers. These guys have to fight & claw for every ounce of muscle they get. However, the plus side is that these guys are always very low on the body-fat, so when they put on 10lbs of muscle they look like a fitness model on the cover of Muscle & Fitness.

Mesomorph – These guys are the genetic gifts. They look like they workout, even if they’ve never touched a weight before in their life. They have wide shoulders & narrow waists, and put on muscle pretty easy. 90% of the greatest bodybuilders of all time are Mesos.

Endomorph – Endos are generally bigger fellows. Pretty much any guy playing defense in the NFL is an Endomorph. They put on muscle pretty easy, but getting low in bodyfat can be a challenge for them. They tend to be stocky fellows as well.

I’m between a meso & endo,  leaning more towards endo. I have naturally really big legs & calves, and can put on weight somewhat easy. As an adult, there’s no way I could weigh 170lbs like when I was 19, and be healthy. So, that’s something you need to realize, 9 times out of 10, every person you see on TV, magazines, or movies who’s all buff & cut is a Mesomorph with fantastic genetics, and is also using….something else. But that’s for another article. So, don’t beat yourself up because you can’t lose weight very easy, or put on muscle with the quickness. Once you learn your type, you can use it to your advantage, and help to set yourself up with reachable goals.

Alright, now on to the mailbag:

Caliber, it’s your boy Horse coming at you from the Virgin Islands again.  Like most, I am not in the greatest of shape.  I am constantly trying to rectify this but after a few weeks or so of hard work I will lose my motivation.  As the resident fitness guru I think you would be doing us all a great service by [taking] an opportunity to share some of your workout secrets with us.  If you had some tricks for keeping up the motivation to exercise that would be even better.
 
Cheers.

Thanks for sending in the question, especially a good one. Motivation is a huge deal when it comes to weight-loss & working out. A lot of times when it comes to making a phsyical change, something has to just click. One day you’ll just decide to get to it, and NOTHING will be able to deter you. However, if you don’t want to wait around for it, and want to force it’s hand, there’s one thing that never fails; seeing results. Give yourself a month. Not some weak bullshit month, either. A ball-busting, all-out effort kind of month. The kind that will generate results. Because at the end of that month, that’s what you’ll see; results, And then *click*. People will take notice, you’ll start feeling better, and at this point you’d rather head-butt a cinder-block with your groin than stop. Seeing those results is the best motivation in the World.

Also, another great source for motivation is like-minded people. Which is why I really want you guys to register up, or use your facebook, whatever, to comment here in the No BS Fitness articles, and create a community for you guys to support one another. I also use movies as motivation. Watching Arnold, Stallone, or The Punisher knee people in the face for looking at them wrong [or not] gets me amped to hit the gym.
Video of the Week:
Here we have a posing routine of Jim Quinn, one of the initial members of Vince McMahon’s ill-fated World Bodybuilding Federation. I’m a big bodybuilding fan, but man, Vince just made it so fucking weird.

 

Alright guys, that’s it for this week. please send in as many questions as you have to caliberw@hotmail.com, and I’ll answer them here. Also, if you’ve got a exercise/bodybuilding/fitness video for the VOTW, let me know.

You never regret a workout.

– Caliber

~ by Caliber Winfield on September 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
