Happy Friday The 13th – Extras & B-Sides

Friday-the-13th2
It’s been over a year since there’s been a Friday the 13th, and how man has survived is beyond me. The SyFy channel is the only station out there with some balls, as they’re being true to the day and airing a Friday The 13th marathon, which hasn’t been done since I was a wee camper. Hopefully there’s a kid out there who’s using it as a gateway into the greatest horror franchise in history.

Now, for those who may be new here, every Friday The 13th I present a new Jason Voorhees themed article. I always decide what it’ll be the day of, and write it up as so. Well, today we’re going with;

Off The Beaten Path

Which means I’m going to present some bad-ass Friday The 13th related material you may have never seen. I know, I know, it doesn’t get better than when you’re hanging with the Caliber man.

Hell yeah! As most of you know, Jason Lives is my favorite of the series for a multitude of reasons. One of them is the awesome soundtrack which features a couple Alice Cooper tracks. The most popular of which is Man Behind The Mask, from his album Constrictor. Thankfully it came with an awesome 80’s video, and would probably be the best horror-themed 80’s rock song if not for those damn Dream Warriors. Another great Alice song is Teenage Frankenstein, which Cort is rocking out to in the RV before getting stabbed in the head. If you’ll notice in that scene, Cort turns up the radio, yet the volume doesn’t increase. It doesn’t matter how loud it is, what matters is how loud you THINK it is. Hell yeah.

When Jason Takes Manhattan came out, they took the opportunity to do something that had never been done before; having Jason be interviewed. The Arseino Hall Show was pretty original, and it was because of things like this. Thankfully they didn’t let it run too long, and of course Kane did a great job.

I dare you, I DARE YOU to tell me that isn’t the most bad-ass teaser trailer of all time. I would have absolutely lost my fucking mind if I was in a theater and saw that. What would have been awkward was explaining to people why I was on the front page of the news the next day underneath the headline “LOCAL MAN TRIES TO HAVE SEX WITH MOVIE SCREEN”.

Robot Chicken is a hell of a show, and have done a few Friday The 13th themed skits, the most popular of which is Jason Meets The Scooby Doo Gang. However, my favorite is Jason At Home, or, Thursday The 12th. Honestly, I get just as excited for Friday The 13th as he does.

If you don’t know about The Angry Video Game Nerd, then you’re welcome. You may have seen the Cinemassacre link I have, well that’s the Nerd’s production company. In my humble opinion this is his best work. Not just because it deals with Friday The 13th, but because the humor is spot on, and this game really is God-awful. Make sure you watch part 2, as The Nerd becomes a Dream Warrior.

 

Alright, gang, that wraps it up for another Friday The 13th. We won’t have to go another 14 months before the next one rolls around, thankfully, and who knows, I may even plan ahead this next time and do something big. Make sure to check out FridayThe13thFranchise.com, as it’s easily the greatest Friday website of all time. Plus, they have this extremely handsome writer who does fantastic write-ups on the films.

~ by Caliber Winfield on September 13, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
