Arnold’s BluePrint, Week 4, Day 2

arnold-schwarzenegger-blueprint-trainer
Today I worked shoulders & arms. We’ll also take a look at a classic bodybuilder, get a track that’s the utmost of burly for your playlist, and the patent Caliber Tip! Everybody wants Caliber’s Tip.

This week is a deload, which basically means you chill a bit on the heavyweight, but don’t use it as an excuse to be a bitch. I can tell you from experience, doing 20 reps at a challenging weight is fucking brutal.

Supps Before Workout: 60g of maltodextrin carbs, 30g of whey isolate, 2 caps of Kre-Alkalyn creatine. I don’t take any pre-workout stuff, simply because I don’t need to get excited to workout. Plus, I don’t think all those stims are healthy for you, another reason I don’t take fat burners. No beef to those who use’em, just not my cup of tea.

Rep scheme for everything is 20, 15, 12, 10, unless otherwise noted.

Clean & Press – 75×5, 85×5 for 3 sets. These absolute toast me, great exercise.

SUPERSET:
Dumbell Press – 20×20, 25×15, 12, 10
Front Raise – 10×20, 15, 12, 10

SUPERSET:
Lateral Raise – 10x 20, 15, 12, 10
Snatch Grip High Pulls – 85×5, 5, 5, 5

Barbell Curl – 30×20, 35×15, 12, 10

SUPERSET:
Flex Curl – 10×20, 12.5×15, 15×12, 10
Preacher/Scott Curl – 35x 8, 7, 6, 6

Close-Grip Bench: 110×12, 8, 8, 8. Did these on a smith machine, and enjoyed them so much more than freeweight, which tend to hurt my wrist. I don’t know what a smith bar weighs, so I never equate it into the numbers. Freeweight though, I was doing 185 for reps of 5 on close grip.

SUPERSET:
Rope Skull Crushers: 20×20, 22.5×15, 25×12, 27.5×10
Standing Rope Extension: 10×10, 8, 8, 6

Man, doing triceps isolate exercises for high reps like that, it hurt like nothing ever before.

3 sets of Farmers Walks at 50lb, supersetted with reverse barbell curls, and doing reps till failure of the hand clamp you use to keep weights in place on the barbell.

Post-Workout:  30g of maltrodextrin mixed with 15oz of gatorade, and 2 caps of Kre-Alkalyn. A few minutes later I had a scoop of Monster Amino, which is like 9-10g of BCAA that’s rich is leucine, along with peptides. Then 15 minutes after that I had 20g of whey isolate.

If you guys want an idea of what I’m eating throughout the day, let me know.

So far, I’m half way through Arnold’s Blueprint, and honestly, it’s the best program I’ve ever done. I feel fantastic working out 6 days a week. I’ve cut fat, and put on a few pounds of muscle. I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been hitting it twice a week, or because I’m doing pullovers for the first time in my life, but my chest has become a monster. The Snatch Grip High-Pulls I’ve been doing, which I suggest everyone give a try, has really brought up my traps, shoulders, and upper-back.

Tip For The Day: When doing barbell rows, something everyone needs to be doing, try them with an underhand grip, as opposed to the standard overhand. I know for me I feel it so much more in my lats when I go underhand.

tom_platz_interview2_g

“The Golden Eagle” Tom Platz

Tom Platz was one of the most popular bodybuilders of the 1980s, and really the first to bring in a hell of a set of legs. Sure, bodybuilders before always had awesome legs, but Platz were other worldly.
In 1981, he was a favorite to win the Mr. Olympia contest, but ended up taking 3rd in what would become arguably the most controversial Olympia in history as Franco Columbo went on to take home the Sandow. Platz actually said it may have been a blessing in disguise, because as soon as he stepped off stage he had deals for guest-posing and endorsements, helping to catapult him into an area of fame & earnings so few bodybuilders had seen up until that point.
While being a fantastic bodybuilder, his business choices weren’t always the wisest. The first year he’d earn some great money, he wanted to buy himself a Corvette. His friend however wanted him to invest in his coffee shop. Tom thought the idea was a bit foolish, as who would buy coffee at some place when you could get it for 10cents at Dennys? That coffee shop eventually became Starbucks. He also had a choice to become one of the first investors of Gold’s Gym, when Joe Gold was trying to expand. Sure, Tom loved the place, but he thought this dingy, hole-in-the-wall gym would never become the leader in gyms across the nation.
Ironically, the one upstart he did take a shot at didn’t pan out, as he became the spokesmen & commentator for the WBF & their PPVs.

Ah, the World Bodybuilding Federation, we’ll get to them very soon.

No Easy Way Out – Rocky 4 Soundtrack

Really, you should have the entire soundtrack on your ipod/phone. This shit is fantastic, and always helps to make for a better workout. But be warned, when listening to this, you may start pseudo-shifting your SOTHPAW sportscar while you reflect on the ups & downs of your life. For me, at least 30 different times I look for a photo of Drago to crunch up to reveal my beard & determination.

 

~ by Caliber Winfield on June 2, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
