Arnold’s BluePrint – Day 4 – Chest & Back

arnold-schwarzenegger-blueprint-trainer

Pre-Workout:  60g of oatmeal, 20g of Muscle Milk, and 2 caps of Kre-Alkalyn creatine.

My legs are trashed. That machine really showed me I need to learn to squat better, because my glutes have never been sore before, and my quad sweeps are sore as well.

I hit another PR today. My 3rd for the week. Unreal. We’ll get to that in a minute.

They didn’t have the standard incline HS, but something called ‘Super’ Incline, which I assume would mean on a standard bench, the incline is higher.

‘Super’ Incline Hammer Strength: 180×4, 4, 200×4, 4, 4, 4, 210×3, 4

Flat Bench Freeweight: 135×6, 185×6, 6,  225×7. The 225 for 7 reps is my PR. For 6 months now I’ve been stuck at 225 for 5. I’ve never done 6 reps for 225, but decided to go for it because I was feeling so good at 185. I almost went to 200, because I thought, hell, I’m pretty wiped from all the heavy sets prior. But I manned the hell up and threw on the 2 plates. Needless to say, I was beyond fucking stoked when I repped out 7. I couldn’t believe it.

SUPERSET:
Machine Flyes: 105×12 for 4 sets
Machine Pullover: 125×12, 90×12, 12, 12

Chin-Ups: The goal is 50 reps total. I was doing close grip, doing about 100 for 2 sets of 10 reps, then 5 reps a piece after as I was only waiting 15 seconds or so between reps.

SUPERSET:
Bent Over Row: [I switched grips for each set, starting with underhand] 95×8 for 5 sets
T-Bar Row: 70×8 for 5 sets. I never use the chest supported row, because you don’t build up your lower back & spinal erectors if they aren’t helping to support you.

Post Workout: 30g dextrose from gatorade mixed with 30g of maltodextrin, 2 caps of Kre-Alkalyn, and 12g of BCAA. 20 minutes later I downed a Banana Cream Muscle Milk which is 25g of protein.
This program is without a doubt my all time favorite. I’ve never seen results like this. I’ve had 3 PRs this week in strength terms, and I’m bigger & more defined than I’ve ever been before. It’s incredible.

Next time you’re doing a machine pullover, instead of holding the bar at the top, clasp your hands together. This way you can really flex the chest, and it brings it into the exercise, as if you were doing it with a dumbell.

~ by Caliber Winfield on June 11, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
