Daily Update – June 14th, 2014

Today I discuss what supps I’m currently using, the results of Arnold’s BluePrint – Day 36, and we take a look at some fantastic WBF footage, something I think is dying to make a comeback.

Alright, today is day 36 of Arnold’s BluePrint, a program that bodybuilding.com put together. Now, granted I think sometimes their bodybuilder-endorsed workouts are bullshit, but I know Arnold’s style, and this one is spot on. Today is the first chest & back session of the week.

Pre-Workout: 60g of oatmeal, 32g of Muscle Milk & 2 Kre-Alkalyn tabs.

Have you guys seen that picture of Dorian Yates where he’s in his prime, on a HS Incline Press? He’s got 4 plates plus a 25lb on each side, and it’s an awesome shot. Well, I always loved that shot, and thus 4 plates is now my white whale on the HS incline.

This workout is the same as last Saturday, so I made sure to go up 5-10lbs on each lift.

HS Incline Press – 185×4, 4, 205×4, 4, 225×4, 4, 275×4, 360×1/2 a rep. I put the 4 plates on each side and went for it, but could only get that bad bitch up half way. So, I think in a month or so I’ll have it.

Flat Bench – 155×6, 190×6, 230×7, 135×10

When I do machine flyes, I set the grips on the deepest setting, so I get a deep stretch when I go back. Also, I never touch my hands like some people, I stop about 6-10inches before that, because any closer and and you lose tension on the muscle.

SUPERSET:
Machine Flyes – 110×12 for 4 sets
Cable Cross Over – 15, 17.5, 17.5, 15 all for sets of 12

Wide Grip Lat Pulldown: The object is to hit 50 reps. So, I set it on 90, and paused at the bottom of each rep to really squeeze the lats. So, it went 18, 28, 35, 40, 45, 50.

SUPERSET:
Bent Over Row – 105×8 for 4 sets
T-Bar Row – 80×8 for 4 sets. I don’t count the bar, because I’m not sure how much of it I’m lifting.

I was toast after this.

Post-Work Out: 30 of dextrose & maltodextrin, 2 caps of Kre-Alkalyn, 12g of BCAA, 32g of Muscle Milk.

10 minutes of 9 incline at 2.2mph. Had to get home early, so had to cut the cardio short.

When it comes to supplements, as far as I’m concerned, if you pronounce an “een” during the word, then you’re good. Such as prot’een”, creat”een”, and am”een”o acids. I don’t use pre-workouts for a variety of reasons. First of all, I don’t react well to stimulants, and I never feel like I need something to get me jacked for the gym. Also, I don’t believe taking all these stims is good for you. Some people build up a massive tolerance, and end up taking so much that they have massive nosebleeds and a mess of other side-effects. If you gotta take something, just drink some coffee.

First up is protein. I’m lactose intolerant, so my choices are limited. I normally use whey isolate from Body Fortress, best known as “walmart protein”. Some people trash it, but I’ve been using it for years and have seen fantastic results. Lately I’ve started using Muscle Milk, and I love it. It tastes incredible, and has an awesome profile that includes multiple types of protein, carbs, and fats. Any excellent protein pre, post, and before bed.

I use amino acids, and go with the Monster Amino. It’s leucine heavy, which is a must, and also contains protein peptides, which is something you guys need to look into. Monster Amino runs anywhere from $25-35 dollars. But you get 30 servings, and it lasts a good while. Plus, a good chunk of amino drinks taste gnarly, but this one is damn fine. It said “Sour Apple”, so I expected that Jolly Rancher flavor, instead, it tasted like a Fuji apple, which is original.

Kre-Alkalyn is my creatine of choice. 2 tabs before workout, and 2 after. It has no bloating, no cycling, and none of the other less desirable effects of standard creatine. I react great to this, as it truly helps with size, and gives its greatest results in the strength department. It’s a must.

I also use a carb mix. Maltrodextrin is a perfect complex carb, and it’s also cheap. I got an 8lb tub for $40, and it’ll last forever. I also buy Gatorade mix, because it taste awesome, and has the precious dextrose for after workouts.

Eddie “Major Guns” Robinson’s routine from the WBF Championship PPV.

I tell you, if there’s one thing I love, it’s old WBF footage. It’s Vince at his utmost insane. I mean, I love bodybuilding, I love wrestling, but I really don’t want them mashed up. However, I’m glad they did it, because it means that we get to see Eddie Robinson shoot ninjas while posing. Seriously, could you see anyone trying to tell Arnold to do something this ridiculous for his Mr. Olympia routines? Glorious.

I’d like to start taking questions, so if you guys have any, send’em to caliberw@hotmail.com or leave a msg here on the website.

~ by Caliber Winfield on June 14, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
