Buff Friday – July 25th, 2014

rockyrussiaAlright guys, as promised here’s the weekly column about getting super buff, and all things related. I’m starting over, and if you see a tip, or a video I posted earlier, well, deal with it.

Today I review a workout program, take a look at John Cena being a bad-ass, and throw a few tips your way. Let’s get it…

First up, I want to review the latest program I tried out, a program that honestly changed my life.

Arnold Schwarzenegger’s Blueprint

I was a little hesitant at first, because 6 days a week, working everything twice in those 6 days seemed like a lot of work. Not that I have a problem with the work, but it flies in the face of things you hear about over-training. However, the guys in the 70s and 80s have always had the total package that I’ve been after, so I gave it a shot.

I’m not joking when I say it changed my life. I now look at training in a completely different way. Working out 6 days a week, everybody part twice has done fucking WONDERS for me. I’ve slimmed down in bodyfat, while packing on more muscle in 2 months than I have in years. I have the look I’ve always wanted. On top of that, my strength has shot through the roof. 4 months ago, I could barely rep out 185lb on the deadlift. Just recently I hit 235lb for 9 reps, and hit a one rep of 300lbs, a goal I’ve been after since I started deadlifting last November. I hit 225 for 8 reps, something I couldn’t get near at all for months & months. I hit almost 900lbs on the leg press for 5 reps. Upped my military press from 120 for 4 reps to 140 for 4 reps.

I truly cannot say enough great things about this program. It’s fantastic. On top of that, I didn’t change my diet. I eat like I always have, just more. Lots of carbs. I don’t count macros either, because I want to show people you can build a damn decent body & strength without having to devote your complete life to it. My daily diet is usually oatmeal, blueberry pancakes, cinnamon bread, tuna, eggs & whole wheat pitas, tons of protein shakes, and fruit

The guy is an absolute beast. He seriously should sell his sperm to women, because he has some of the greatest genetics of all time. To be that big, that cut, and that strong, all while being natural, is almost impossible. Although he tried his hand at bodybuilding, he really should have done powerlifting. If he focused on that, and went on the juice, I seriously believe he could have become the best of all time.

I don’t remember what I was watching, but a guy told a story about John before he became famous and just worked out at the local gym. Back in those days he was still a legend around the place, and had earned a rep as one strong motherfucker. There was another guy who took exception to that, and would talk shit to anyone who was willing to listen.

So, one day John comes in while the guy is there to settle things. They decide to hash it out under the squat rack. After a while, the guy racked a heavy weight and busted out 5 or 6 reps. John gets under the bar and hits 2 reps, then starts to struggle, on the 4th rep he goes low and looks like he isn’t gonna make it. Suddenly, he blows the guy a kiss and starts pumping out reps like crazy. The guy never said another word again.

TIPS & CRAP:

I know a lot of people tend to avoid Muscle Milk because it’s that case where when something is mainstream, it doesn’t get respect amongst the hardcore, plus the fact it’s only 16g of protein a scoop isn’t much to brag about. However, I’m here to tell you that Muscle Milk is the motherfucking jam. I recommend always keeping a jug around for a snack, or something before bed because there is no greater tasting supplement on the market than Muscle Milk. Any flavor they make is insanely good. They’re seriously like a desert, especially if you buy the pre-packaged kind and chill them in the fridge. It’s also packed with fiber & healthy fats, you can’t go wrong.

You know when you’re working shoulders, and suddenly after a hard set the pain is almost unbearable? Maybe it’s just me, but the ache in my shoulders is far worse than anything else. Well, I stumbled across a way to zap it and get you more than ready for the next set. When your shoulders start to hurt, simply find the dumbell rack, or a bench that’s in an incline position, and place your hands on it, and put your weight a little into it. It completely takes the weight off your shoulder girdle and feels insanely better. Give it a shot next workout, see if it works well for you.

This is a track I can’t say enough about when it comes to your workout playlist. It’s from the first Expendables film, and is a song I always go to when I’m heading for a PR.

 

Any questions, or ideas on what you’d like me to cover in this column, lemme know.  You can also contact me for personal training at caliberw@hotmail.com. I’m not one of those bullshit PTs who give the same damn program to every client, everyone gets things tailor made to them.

~ by Caliber Winfield on July 26, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
