Str8 Buffness – August 25th, 2014

Str8BuffnessBolo
This week we take a look at some of my workouts over the past week, I discuss hitting a few PRs, John Cena shows people how to grocery shop like a man, and I flash around my rockin’ tips.

So, last Monday I made my glorious return to the World of squatting. From November 2013 until mid-March 2014, I was doing a 5×5 program and squatting heavy 3 times a week. Needless to say, I got burnt the fuck out on squatting. So, it was heavy leg-presses, both cable & plate loaded for me for a while. I was digging that, and even hit a PR of repping 900lbs for 5 reps, plus my knee was feeling better, because it was hard for me to get my squat form down. However, after a while, I started to miss squats, plus they’re just so damn good for muscle building. I also decided to turn my leg day into more of a powerlifting focus day, and this was the result:

Monday – August 18th, 2014

Squats – 135×5, 185×5 for 3 sets

Deadlifts – 145×5, 195×5, 245×5, 5

Farmers Walk – 60lb dumbells in each hand, walking for about 20 seconds. Then 80lb dumbells, same.

I then followed that up with 25 minutes of incline walking. Doing IW is the absolute superior thing for fat loss, plus it completely blasts your legs.

Anyway, the result to this was the worst leg soreness I’ve ever had. The return to squatting, on top of multiple heavy-sets of deadlifts had absolutely shredded my legs. I have never felt soreness like that in my life. It hadn’t full dissipated until Saturday. Normally I’d have done another leg day on the following Thursday, but with the soreness, and a slight muscle pull I’d had on Tuesday, I sat the rest of the week out, which sucked. So, I got back at it on Saturday, and today was my first leg day since last week.

Legs – August 25th, 2014

Hack Squats – 270×7, 320×7, 7, 7

Rack Pulls – 135×5, 185×5, 225×3, 275×5, 300×7

Single-Leg Plate Loaded Leg Press – 130×10 for 3 sets, all done back to back

Sitting Calf Raise – 90 for 2 sets of real slow reps until failure

Walking Incline for 25 minutes. I had the treadmill set at 10 incline for 20 minutes, at a speed of about 1.9mph, then 13 incline with 2mph for 5 minutes.

2 months ago, 300lbs on rack pull was the goal of goals for me. When I finally hit it, I felt like a fucking beast.  Today I was hoping for a solid 5, and hit 7. Honestly, one of the best pieces of advice I can give you guys is please set goals in the weight room, because few things feel better than when you shatter that motherfucker.

Another goal I hit was 2 reps on the Hammer Strength Incline Press with 4 plates on each side, which adds up to 360lbs. I’d been after a single rep on that bitch for ages, and to actually get 2 feels incredible.

I’m up to 155lbs for 4 reps on Standing Military Press. My ultimate goal is to get 200lbs, and I’m probably 6-12 months away on this one. I’ve read that adding weight on this lift takes longer than any other. So, if you’re pushing decent weight on this one, then make sure you celebrate by flexing for people. They’ll love it.

Sometime in late 2000/early 2001, The Discovery Channel aired a documentary about up & coming independent pro-wrestlers. One of the show’s presumably break-out star, was John “Prototype” Cena. It’s a great doc, and one I suggest looking for. What we have here are all of the clips that feature John, put together. We get some cool footage of him as a completely different character than we know today, training, and my favorite, going grocery shopping. Dude shops like a man should. I’m surprised he didn’t buy a whole cow.
The guy he faces through out the series of clips is Mark “Smelly” Bell, who is now one of the best strength coaches in the US and in fact John Cena’s coach.

Str8 Tips:

OK, when you guys are doing shoulder work, I truly think that if possible, it’s always best to do it standing up. From Dumbbell Press, Lateral Raise, Front Raise, and Arnold Press, you get much more benefit from standing up because everything is more difficult, and it calls your entire body into play. Seriously, do a heavy set of presses standing, and you can feel your teeth coming into play. It helps build stability, as well as a strong core & lower back. You won’t be able to use as much weight than if you were sitting, but you’ll get stronger than if you did everything sitting.

Tension is your muscle’s best friend. That’s how it gets built. So the more tension you can put your muscle under, the better you’ll be. Here’s a few ways I’ve increased tension during certain exercises:

Chest Flyes – First off, make sure you bring the way down very far, and get that deep stretch in your pecs. Then when you bring the dumbells back up, don’t bring them together. Instead, stop them about a foot or so apart from one another, which is just about when the tension starts to ease up, and head back down.

Rear Delt Flyes – If you’re doing them bent-over, then do what I just said, but in reverse. If you’re on a machine, then stop the arms about an inch or two before the plate stack comes back together.

Lateral Raises – One thing I came across that hurts like hell, is doing these while sitting length wise on a bench. When you’re sitting like that, you can’t bring your arms down all the way, and this keeps them working until you feel like puking.

Alright guys, that’s it for this week. Any questions or what have you, caliberw@hotmail.com.

~ by Caliber Winfield on August 25, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
