Str8 Buffness – August 30th, 2014

str8buffbatman
On today’s episode I talk about something that’s damned important, and that’s grit. Knowing that more often than not, there is no easy way out, and not constantly looking for the easy road. Because to get the most out of the gym, you gotta drive your Lambo with SOTHPAW license plate down the street while you reflect on the good & bad about your career.
I started working out with a religious fervor in May of 2010, and I didn’t use any freeweights until November of 2013. For years I only worked out at an apartment gym that was hardly equipped, with zero freeweights. I ordered some dumbells and used those on occasion, but that was the extent.
When I finally joined a gym in March of 2013, I quickly found out that strength on a machine absolutely does not equate to strength on freeweights. So, I stayed away from them and kept using machines because it was the easy thing to do. I also didn’t squat or deadlift, for those same reasons. I mean, the workouts I was doing were tough, but I avoided certain things because it would have been tough to start all over again. Finally, I started a 5×5 program in November of 2013, that was ALL freeweight, and also had me squatting 3 days a week.
So, I quit being a bitch, and finally started to develop real fucking strength. Using real fucking weights. Well, after squatting that much for 4 months, I grew tired of the 5×5 and jumped around in programs until I found Arnold’s BluePrint, and hit the jackpot.
Anyway, for months I avoided squatting, and stuck to leg presses. Why? Because squats are fucking tough. Because it sucks putting 225lbs on your shoulders and taking it back & forth to the bucket. Well, two weeks ago I finally got back into it, and I feel so much better doing them. Because I know I’m busting my ass, and helping myself on a ton of different levels.
I see photos of myself from a few years ago compared to now, and you can completely see the difference. But it’s not the obvious things like bigger pecs, or biceps that standout, it’s things like my forearms having more definition, or my traps being thicker, or that undefinable look that guys who base most of their work on heavy freeweights get. It’s rewarding.
I never see guys in the gym doing deadlifts, squats, over head presses, heavy bench, heavy dumbell benching, or anything like that. Why? Because it’s hard fucking work. They’d rather throw a few plates on a Hammer Strength machine, or switch a pin on a cable machine. Naturally, those things have their place, and I use them too, but they’re tools, not the work bench.
Don’t cheat yourself in the gym, because if you do it there, then you’re definetly doing it in other places of your life. You need grit. You need to go through fire every now and then to not only test your character, but because a lot of things worth having in life, you gotta go through some fire to get. Don’t be a lame-ass that’s afraid of his own shadow. Don’t be afraid of failing. Don’t be afraid of a goddamn thing. Set goals. Then smash those goals to fucking pieces. I don’t care how small the goals are, just set them. That’s one of the reasons I love the gym so much, because I set a goal, and through a lot of hard fucking work & time, I crush it, and few things feel better than that. You owe it to yourself to not be a bitch, so don’t be. Don’t avoid the deadlift in the gym, and don’t avoid the deadlift in life.

Here’s the chest & back workout I did today.

Incline Dumbell Bench – [2 warm up sets of 15 with 40], 45×15, 60×12, 70×10, 75×8

Goddamn, the high reps here, on top of getting the dumbells up, completely blew me up as far as my chest was concerned. I was toast after those sets.

Flat Bench Barbell – 185×5, 230×5, 4

I could have nailed that last rep on the last set of the flat bench, but my chest was fucking toast, seriously, and I didn’t want to bust my shit.

Flat Dumbell Flyes – 30×10, 40×6, Fly Machine – 165×9

For the last set I switched to the machine, because I was feeling a little strain in my shoulder doing the freeweight flyes. Some that was pretty cool though, like 2 years ago I tried to do dumbell flyes with 40lb dumbells, and there was no fucking way it was gonna happen. But they felt light as hell today. If My chest hadn’t been toasted, I could have hit 10 reps, easy.

Cable Crossover – 25×10, 10, 10

Lat Pulldown – 140×10, 155×6, 6, 6

I’m going up 5lbs a week on these lat pulldowns. My hopes are that I’ll be able to bang out 5 reps at 200lb no problem. I did reverse grip on the last set.

SuperSet:
Barbell Row – 95×20, 135×15, 165×12, 205×6, 6
Hammer Strength High Row – 160×6, 6, 7, 7

Man, 3 months ago, 95lbs on barbell row was something I was hitting for 8 reps. I fucking killed it today. I probably should have jumped up to 185 instead of 205, but I was just feeling it so damn much. I’ve found for me if I want to get stronger on a lift, I work it twice a week for 2-3 weeks, then take a week or two off, and when I come back, I’m killing it.

30 minutes of incline walking, with the treadmill set at 10 for 20 minutes, and 13 for 10 minutes, at an average speed of 1.8mph.

Last week I hit a PR of 245lb for 5 reps on the flat bench. If I can nail 250lb for 5 reps, then I know I can hit 300lb, which has been a white whale of mine for a while. Now that I’m back to squatting, the goal I set of a 900lb total [total numbers for squat, bench, and deadlift] is back in my sights.

Seriously, LOOK at this beast! He’s pressing 200lb dumbells on INCLINE. It’s absolutely insane. I mean, imagine the weight of just one of those things sitting on your leg, getting ready to go.

There’s a reason this is called ‘the best fight scene ever’. Look at that knife! His chest hair is ripped out! Man, how awesome.

caliberaugust3020142
Here’s how I’m looking these days. I took this picture before I started writing today’s article. I’m between 252-255lb, with a fabulous tan. I’m around 18% bodyfat I believe, could be hire for all I know. I’m cool with the amount of fat I’m at, and just care about putting on more size.

If you guys have any questions you’d like answered, or want to hear me bather on about, hit me up at caliberw@hotmail.com

 

~ by Caliber Winfield on August 30, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
