Sunday’s Shoulders & Arms Workout

Hey guys. I thought on occasion I’d post a worthwhile workout that I had.

Sunday was the first Shoulders & Arms workout of the week, and can be a taxing piece of work, as it usually clocks in around an hour, hour fifteen minutes.

Before workout I had 2 scoops of Cookies & Cream Muscle Milk, along with 2 cups or so of applesauce.

I warm up doing 2 sets of rotator cuff lifts, using 10lb dumbbells, 10 reps each arm. These are essential for warming up the shoulders, and I do them before every shoulder & chest workout.

This is basically it, but I do them with a few differences. First off, I do one arm at a time. Second, my arm is propped up on something, such as a piece of equipment or something.

Clean & Press – 65×5, 85×5, 95×5, 105×5

My goal for C&P is to rep 135 for 5, something I’m sure is gonna take a couple months. Still, I was only repping 85 a few months ago. I tell you, it’s an absolute bitch doing these bad boys, they work everything, and it blasts your cardio. Also, it’s one of those lifts that no one ever does, and you never see in magazines. It really is fantastic, and I suggest you guys give it a go.

SS:
Standing Dumbbell Press – 37.5×8, 42.5×8, 47.5×8, 52.5×8
Front Raise – 10×8, 8, 8, 12.5×8

I’m on track with where I want to be with the dumbbell presses. 4 months ago I remember jumping for joy because I was able to get the 50lb dumbbells up finally, and then push & press it for 3 reps. I could give a shit about the weight I do for front & lateral raises, those are merely sculpting moves and could care less if I use 1lb for those moves. Now, you guys need to be careful when going up for heavyweight in the dumbbell press. There’s a lot of body mechanics that are involved, and a lot of potential for injury, so please, take it easy. There is no area that takes more time to build strength in than the shoulders. And if you screw one of them up, then you can kiss about 80% of your exercise selection history.

Ah, my beloved Snatch Grip High Pull. Arguably the greatest exercise for increasing the size of your traps & yoke. I’ve been doing them twice a week for 4 months, and my traps have grown more in those 4 months than the last 4 years of training combined.

SS:
Snatch Grip High Pull – 65×7, 75×4, 5, 5
Rear Delt Flyes – 15×8, 8, 8, 8

Straight Bar Curls – Every set is done till failure. The first one was about 25 reps or so, then the second was about 10-15. After that, it went down a rep or two each 10lb increase. 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80. These were all done back to back.

SS:
HS Preacher Machine – 55×10, 7, 7 6&1/2
Pin Wheel Curl – 35×4, 30×5, 5, 15×9

Dips On Asst Machine – 54lbs x10, 10, 8, body-weight of 255x 13. For those of you who aren’t familiar with this machine, it’s a tower like structure that has handles for both pull-ups & dips. You select a weight with the pin, then put your feet or knees on a pad, and do the exercise. Whatever weight you choose is the weight that’s taken off your own body-weight. It’s an awesome machine.

SS:
Standing Cable Skull Crushers -110×15, 8, 8, 8
Rope Press Down – 60×8, 6, 6, 7

I found a tricep exercise that kicks major ass. So, you have a rope set up for press downs, you grab it, and take a few steps back. Then you start pulling it towards your groin, basically, like you’re doing it doggystyle, and when you pull the rope into you, flex your triceps. It targets them like a motherfucker. I loved it.

Incline Walking for 20 minutes.

~ by Caliber Winfield on September 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
