Str8 Buffness – September 13th, 2014

rambostr8buffness
Greetings, all. Today I talk about my new program, go over my recent supplement re-up, then talk about some burly gym music as well as some videos. Dig it.

To those who’ve been following me for a minute, you know that in June I started working out 6 days a week, working everything twice, under the guidance of Arnold’s Blueprint program. I can honestly say it’s the best program I’ve ever used, and it really opened my eyes as to how my body reacts to certain things. Well, after about 4 months, I decided it was time for a change, to keep the gains coming.

I ended up finding a great push/pull/legs, 6 days a week program. If you guys want the full plan, let me know and I’ll post it. As for now, here’s how today went:

Push Day A

Flat Bench – 225×5, 245×3, 3, 3, 255×2, 185×7. 3 minute rest periods

I wish I had a training partner, because it’d be nice to bang out some extra reps when I reach failure on a heavy lift.

Dumbell Press Seated – 47.5×12

Dumbell Press Standing – 47.5×8, 50×7. 60 second rest periods

I’ve always done standing presses, so when I went to do sitting today, I hated it. The lift felt so awkward. So, I went up to standing afterward. I remember a few months ago, just getting the 50lb dumbells up was my ultimate goal, and now I feel like I could probably get 70s up.

Dips on Asst Machine – 66lbs removedx10, 12, 9. 60 sec rest periods

I can do bodyweight dips just fine, but my chest was toast, and when I take some weight off, I can really focus on the contraction.

Cable Crossovers – 22.5×10 for 5 sets. 30 sec rest periods

Standing Tricep Rope Extension – 60×10, 70×10 for 4 sets. 30 sec rest periods

Sitting Dumbell Lateral Raise – 5×10 for 5 sets. 15 second rest periods.

Farmers Carries – 65 dumbell, held & walked until failure, then 70lb dumbell.

Incline walking for 30 minutes.
The program is basically powerbuilding. The first move of each workout is very heavy compound, and the rest is about bodybuilding, with specific rest periods, which I love. I’ve tweaked the program a bit to add a few more powerlifting moves such as Farmers Carries, Snatch Grip High-Pulls, as well as Clean & Press.

The tricep move is where I stand facing a rack, and grab the tricep rope before I stand back a foot or so. Then I pull the rope down into my lower abs, and flex my triceps. It’s a hell of a move, and gives you a great pump.

Re-upped on the supplements the other day, didn’t get a lot, as I don’t use a lot, but I got the essentials:

Muscle Milk – Cake Batter flavor. I love MM. I workout first thing in the morning, and this stuff is great pre-workout fuel. It’s a mix of proteins, along with carbs & fats. Plus, it’s the best tasting protein on Earth. I also have one before bed. I got the bigger tub for $28 at Vitamin Shoppe.

Muscle Tech Whey Isolate – Chocolate. They make themselves a damn fine isolate, that taste better than most other standard brands. You get 30g a scoop, with about 20 scoops a tub for $20. You can get this bad boy at Wal-Mart.

Body Fortress Whey Isolate – Chocolate. This stuff has been my go-to protein for years. You get 26 scoops for $21, with each scoop coming in at 30g. People can talk shit about it all they want, but this protein works perfectly. Now, if you’re going to get a tub, which I recko you do, get chocolate. First of all it tastes better, but more importantly, it doesn’t create a ton of foam like the vanilla flavor.

Kre-Alkalyn Creatine. You can get a month supply at just about every where for $20. I came across this stuff a few years ago, and I’ve never looked back. Kre Alkalyn is hands down the greatest creatine of all time. I see more size & strength with this stuff than regular creatine, as does pretty much anyone else who uses it.

Now That’s What I Call Buffness!

One of the most bad-ass songs of all time, that on occasion, I can listen to for an entire gym session. The only problem that comes with listening to this is you’ll want to start attacking senior citizens in the parking lot & punching out car windows.

The guy who did this is absolutely amazing. This is a fantastic piece of work. If you listen to it enough times, you start dancing around the gym like Dan Flamingo, and the ladies go so nuts for it they call the cops to restrain you, so that they don’t lost their minds with desire.

Burlyvision

Elliot Hulse, who runs Strength Camp, and does the Yo! Elliot youtube series, is one of the baddest motherfuckers in the business of iron. He’s insanely smart, and practically a bottomless pit when it comes to information. Here he trains back in a damn creative & entertaining way, absolutely killing it.

I defy you, DEFY YOU, to watch this and not say it’s one of the best fight scenes ever. It has everything! From swords, to shruiken, smoke-bombs, dummies, robotic-water-proof-arms, and much much more. So good.

 

Last word…

Remember, you’ll never regret a workout. How many times have you not been feeling it when it came time to hit the gym, but went anyway, and then afterwards were damn glad you did? I truly believe working out is one of the single greatest things a person can do for themselves. Not just for your health, but your confidence & self-esteem. You can set goals in life, such as a better job, more money, better girlfriend, hoping that Big Bang Theory gets canceled, and some of these will happen, and some may not. While most things are in your control, some are not.
However, when it comes to the gym, everything is in your control. When you set a goal for a 300lb bench press, your success or failure is all yours. You hit the gym like a person possessed, bust your ass, and you hit that goal. And when you do, it feels absolutely fucking incredible. Because this is something you’ve completely done on your own. Your own merit. Your own steam. Your own planning & execution. It feels so damn good, and makes you feel like you can conqure the World. So don’t dog yourself, don’t say you’ll make it up tomorrow, get your ass in there and set a PR.

~ by Caliber Winfield on September 13, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
