Str8 Buffness – September 29th, 2014

BaneStr8Buffness
Greetings all. This week on Straight Buffness I talk about a goal I reached that I’ve been after since I started working out, give some food reckos, and as always, we watch some TV. Let’s get it…

This last Saturday I did the one goal I’ve had since I started working out, and that’s to bench 300lbs, free weights, flat bench, no spot.

I’ve been working out serious for 4 years, but for 3 years and a few months I was working out in an apartment gym, on machines. I thought if you bench 210 for 10 reps on a machine, you can do that free weight style, no problem.

So, when I went to a real gym 15 months ago, felt like a cocky little shit, and when I got under the real weight, I could barely move 160lbs. I was a fucking bitch.

I stayed on the machines. I didn’t want to start all over again.

But I was being a bitch. A total bitch. I mean, all I wanted was a 300lb bench, and I had reached that on machines. You know what that means to people? Nothing. At least, people who know what’s up.

So, last November I started a program that was no machines, all free weights. Squats, bench, deadlift. At that moment, I wanted that 300lb bench. 300lbs is, well, the benchmark. Most guys in the gym don’t hit 300lb. I busted my ass. Busted it. Busted it. Busted it. Then I hit a plateau. I was stuck around 225lb. I could hit it for sets of 5, but beyond that, shit was diminishing, and it just wasn’t happening.

I revised my gameplan.

A month ago I tried 275lb, and got it up. I went for 285lb, and almost killed myself.

So, yesterday, I was destined to hit 285lb, with 300lb in my sights in a few weeks.

I hit 275lb, fucking smoked it. 285lb? Smoked it. Could have hit it for 2.

Oh, shit. Could today be the day? Could it? My heart started racing. I had no spot. And I wanted this so bad. So bad. If I didn’t get it, my day would be ruined. I wanted it. So. Fucking. Badly.

I sat on the bench, and turned on Diamond Eyes by Shinedown, which is the main theme for the Expendables. I then imagined I had Arnold & Stallone at my side, telling me I could do it. It’s what I do when I go for a big lift. Go to hell.

I got under the bar. Wrapped my hands around it as tight as I could, and unracked it. First thing, it was a good sign that it didn’t feel like crushing weight. I lowered it to my chest slowly, in full control, and then brought it back up. However, when I got short of lock out, I struggled. Suddenly, I had 1000lbs in my hands. I could feel the weight go down 1/10000th of an inch, and it was the tipping point. The Rocky moment. Do you give up? Or do you pour every single fucking thing you’ve ever had. Every single fucking thing you’ve ever been worth, and will ever be worth. Every single up and down you’ve ever gone through, into that moment, and push?

You fucking push.

That bar went up, baby. It was the hardest life I’ve ever done. But it fucking went up.

Also, I had no spot.

I shot up, and screamed “WHOOOO!”. I didn’t care if I looked like an ass. I then walked around, soaking up one of the happiest moments of my life. I even had tears in my eyes.

The point, other than me bragging about my fantastic moment of triumph, is this is exactly why people should workout. The gym is the only place on Earth where you can set goals, and if you work at them, hard, you WILL achieve them. That can’t be said anywhere else. Things from the outside can affect what happens to you. But not the gym. You’re 100% in control. 100%.

When you reach the goal, or goals you’ve set, there’s no better fucking feeling in the world. So no matter what, set goals. I don’t care if it’s a goal you can achieve every day, just set’em and crush’em.

Here’s the workout from Saturday.

Push Day A

Flat Bench – 230×6, 250×4, 275×1, 285×1, 300×1

Standing Dumbell Press – 42.5×8, 45×10, 47.5×8, 60sec RP

Dips Asst Machine – 90×12, 30×8, 8, 60sec RP

This is the machine that takes weight off for either dips or pull-ups. I can do body weight dips all day, but my chest & shoulders were toast and I didn’t want to push it.

Cable Crossover – 22.5×10 for 5 sets, 30sec RP

Waist Pull Tricep Rope Extension – 80×10 for 5 sets, 30 sec RP

Sitting Lateral Raise – 7.5×10 for 5 sets, 15 sec RP

I’ve never done the lateral raises sitting down, and it gave me an incredible burn, gonna continue with those for a while.

Incline Walk – 20 minutes, first 10 are around 8-10 on the incline dial, then I dial it up to 15 for 6 minutes, and then for the cool down I go down 2-3 points every minute. I keep the pace around 1.5-1.8 or so, making sure I’m always walking.

If you guys have been keeping up lately, you know I’m on a bulk. One food that I’ve discovered that is awesome, is cinnamon bread. There’s a couple varieties, with the most common being Franz Cinnamon Swirl French Toast. Per slice you’re getting 110 calories, 20g of carbs, 1g of fiber, and 4g of protein. I know a lot of sissy folk freak out about bread, but if you’re a dude who’s after being big with heavy lifts, then you don’t care. On top of the decent profile, the bread tastes amazing. I seriously eat a loaf every 2 days.

BUFF TV:

This video amazes the hell out of me every time I see it.

This is great movie about the current state, and history of powerlifting. The movie runs a little longer than 90 minutes, but easily holds your attention. It’s great to watch while you’re doing cardio, or if you’re at home and have a smart TV and/or blu-ray player.

One of the best movies I’ve ever seen. Flat out, if you don’t like it, you’re wrong, and pretty much a sissy. This is the scene that made me really want to bring up my traps & upper back. When he’s walking towards the other prisoners, his upper back looks massive. Also, for those wrestling fans out there, you noticed Kurt Angle, right?

 

Final Word:

Today I want to talk about making a choice, and sticking with it. If you’ll take notice when you’re at the gym, a lot of guys aren’t very big. They aren’t very ripped. They aren’t very strong. They’re very middle of the road. One of the main reasons is because people go all over the place with their goals, and never stick to one. You can’t attempt to get big, and ripped at the same time. You’ll only get a little bit from both sides, because they cross each other out. Do gain advantage in one, you have to do exactly what hurts the other.

So take your time. Pick a plan, and focus on it. Take a year and just pack on the muscle. Do incline walking to keep the fat in check, and keep kicking ass every where else. Just by knowing where you’re going in the gym, you’ll be ahead of 85% of everyone else.

~ by Caliber Winfield on September 29, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
