Power-Building Back Routine

Greetings all. Lately I’ve been trying to build up my back, and the program I’ve been on has really kicked my ass and improved the hell out of it, so I wanted to share it with you guys.

My favorite training style is power-building, which is a mix of powerlifting, and bodybuilding, that way you get the best of both worlds. I could never understand the dudes who just want to be strong, but don’t care about being big, or vice versa. I wanna have to walk side-ways through doors, but then also be able to throw cars because I have to change a tire.

I got the original version of this workout from StrengthandMuscle.com, and it’s damn brilliant. As I said before, it’s a mix of power-lifting & bodybuilding, and works like so. You start off the workout with a heavy compound lift, doing low reps, with long rest periods. Then afterwards, everything is geared towards bodybuilding, which means short rest periods, higher reps, and lots of intensity.

I workout 6 days a week, so with this you get two back days a week, each different.

Alright, let’s get it…

Pull Day A –

RP stands for Rest Period between the sets

Rack Pull – 225×5, 5, 5, 5, 135×6, RP 120sec

Rack pulls are awesome, and something I believe everyone should have in their program. You set yourself up in the squat cage, and set the safety bars to the point where when you place the barbell on it, the bar rest above your knees. Some like to go below your knees, but I go above to really work the back, which it does. I’ve been doing them this way for a little while now, and I’m so much stronger in my lats, and my lowerback has become a lot stronger, too.

Now, the weight isn’t much here in the rack pulls, and that’s because I’m working on my grip strength. I’ve been relying on straps too much for my deadlifts, so I want to build up my grip strength to match the rest of me. Otherwise, I could be pulling in the 300+ range.

Bent Over Row – 155×10, 10, 10, RP 60sec

Hammer Strength Reverse Grip Lat Pull Down – 140×10, 160×7, 140×9, RP 60sec

Absolutely love this machine, you get an incredible range of motion and stretch in the lats.

Hammer Strength Shrugs – 270×8, 230×8, 8, 8, 8, RP 30sec

Str8 Bar Curl – 50×10, 10, 10, RP 30sec

21’s – 20lbs for 3 rounds, RP 30sec

Rear Delt Flies – 12.5×10 for 5 sets, RP 15sec

Ab Exercise – 3 sets between 8-10 reps, RP 15sec

Pull Day B –

Rack Pull – 235×4, 6, 6, 135×10, RP 120secs

Hammer Strength High Row – 140×12, 160×9, 9, RP 60secs

If you don’t have this at your gym, then I’d suggest doing some Pendlay Rows. Make sure you read up on these, as they are different than your standard bent-over rows.

Wide Grip Lat Pulldown – 160×6, 6, 105×13, RP 60 secs

1-Arm Row – 55×10 for 5 sets, RP 30 secs

I tell you, doing these with a weight that’s challenging for 10 reps is fucking brutal. Because you’re putting your body through 100 reps in only 2 minutes and 30 seconds time. My back is already toast at this point, and afterwards I gotta have people hoist me around the gym, Weekend At Bernie’s style.

Sit & Stand Curl – 25×5, 3 for 3 sets, RP 30 secs

What I do, is sit on an incline bench, and curl until failure, then I stand up, and do more until failure. I’ve been wanting to get a set of Fat Grips lately, so for these I wrapped towels around the handles, and man did it make a difference. It made the curls a hell of a lot more challenging.

Flex Curl – 40×10 for 3 sets, RP 30 secs

Flex Curls are when you stand in between two cable machines, grab the handles, and then do a double-bicep flex, curling inward. These are without a doubt the best bicep peak builders I’ve ever done. Throw these into your routine, and I guarantee within 8 weeks you’ll see a significant difference. Make sure the handles are set around eye level, any lower than that and you won’t get the right range of motion.

Machine Rear Delt Flies – 40×10 for 4 sets, last set I hit 12 reps, RP 15 seconds

This will burn. Badly.

3 sets of ab exercises.

If you guys give these routines a shot, or even a select exercise I suggested, let me know what you thought.

BY the way, I’m going to start a youtube channel here shortly. Yes, I know, the world is clamoring for the 36,423 channel dedicated to weight lifting.

~ by Caliber Winfield on October 11, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
