Minute Man Reviews – Deadpool

Deadpool_poster.jpg

I remember in 1998 my best friend and I felt so cool because like when someone discovers a cool band before anyone knows about them, we were all about Deadpool. He was a few years older than me and had money, so I was uber jealous the day he bought New Mutants #98, the first appearance of Deadpool. Especially now since it has to be worth a few a few pennies, but I did get a sweet Deadpool action figure that day.

Anyway, fast forward a few years later and Deadpool is the biggest deal in comics. I honestly found his humor to be obnoxious, and preferred the more bad-ass version of Deadpool. So, to be honest, I wasn’t looking forward to this movie at all, and the commercials didn’t help [that brown pants joke made me cringe every fucking time].

Well, I’m here to say that the movie is great. The humor for the most part was actually pretty well done, and wasn’t horribly drenched all over the place like I thought. Besides that, it’s paced well, the run time is perfect, all the characters play their part well, and the action aspect is great too. Although I have no idea why healing abilities give Deadpool such physical prowess and ability to do things in normal time that an average person would need it to be in slow-mo to accomplish, but who cares.

So, go see Deadpool, it’s great. One of the best solo-comic book movies I’ve ever seen. I especially dug Colossus, he worked well in his role of the straight man to all of Deadpool’s going-ons. And you can definitely take your children to see this, the younger and more impressionable the safer it is.

****1/4 Head-Butts Out Of *****

 

~ by Caliber Winfield on February 17, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
