Movies the World is wrong about…Terminator 2: Judgment Day

In the pantheon of  movies, you’ll always hear talks of Terminator 2. Be it in the field of Greatest: of all time, sequels, action movies, sci-fi.

However, the problem is that T2 is crap. It’s nothing more than a glorified kid’s movie.

That’s why people these days love it; because they saw it when they were kids, and it’s nostalgia for them.

I grew up with parents who were so out of sync in pop-culture, they didn’t know the difference between AC/DC & ABBA. Or between Tom Cruise & Anna Nicole Smith. So, I had to find things on my own, pretty much.

I first saw Terminator and T2 when I was 17. At the time, I thought it was a great movie. I’ve always thought T1 to be the reigning champ, however.

When T3 came out, I wasn’t that big of a fan. I thought it was a slap in the face to the drama of part 2’s ending. That is, until I started watching both movies more often, and realized just how much more T3 kicked ass.

Sure, the plot of T3 isn’t anything original, but it’s still a great premise. The comedy is leap and bounds over T2, as it doesn’t have any corny crap like T2 was packed with. The T-800 is as it should be. It’s cold & calculating. Just look at the scene when he finally get’s a moment with John, as he starts scanning him for concussions and other bodily injuries, it’s perfect. Granted, the female Terminator is a grade down from Robert Patrick’s AWESOME performance as the T-100, but it’s nothing that hampers the movie. The action is awesome, and the battle scenes between the two always deliver. The initial chase scene in the beginning blows any and everything T2 does out of the water.

Now, let’s get on with my gripes about part 2.The whole movie is packed with annoying characters, reciting beyond stupid dialogue. John Connor is a whinny little bitch who tries to be tough, yet does nothing but annoy. The Terminator is a fucking machine who does what he’s programmed to do. He hunts. He kills. That’s it. He doesn’t say crap like “I need a vacation”. Or “I know now why you cry, but it is something I cannot do”. NO. NO he would never learn that, or care. The kid is a fucking punk, bottom line. Take the scene where the guys try to help him out, and he just tells them to fuck off, and acts all cool with stuff like “Did you call muah, a dip shit?”. Ugh. All this garbage is stuff that a 10 year old would find cool.

I mean, the Terminator gives a fucking thumbs up as he’s dying? ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! Can you imagine the Terminator from part 1 doing that? No, you can’t? Really, what a shock.

Then we have Sarah Connor. All she does the whole movie is scream, and act extremely dramatic. Well, she’s a woman, so I guess they have that right. She’s constantly flipping out, and trying to be as manly as possible. Whenever she speaks, it’s practically in a growl,  spouts nothing but crap about the future, and being tough. She’s such an unlikeable character.

“anyone not wearing 2 million sunblock is gonna have a real bad day!”

UGH.

This movie took one of the biggest bad-asses in cinema, and turned him into a fucking step-dad. Why’d they even cast Arnold? Was Patrick Duffy unavailable?

Now, sure, T3 isn’t without it’s flaws, but they’re minor. Such as the gay strip club ordeal. Later using “talk to the hand”. However, those are really your only problems, and they’re rather insignificant compared to the crap fest that’s Terminator 2, which is pretty much only useful if you want to entertain a group of daycare kids.

Watch it again, and forget your nostalgia. You’ll see it sucks.

You’re welcome.

~ by Caliber Winfield on March 9, 2010.

7 Responses to “Movies the World is wrong about…Terminator 2: Judgment Day”

  1. I agree. Terminator 2, whilst still a great watch, has too much corny stuff in it. It would have made much more sense to have the T800 remain brutal but for a good purpose than to allow it to learn and have feelings.

    The only area it scores higher than The Terminator is that some of the action is superior, due to the higher budget no doubt. The Terminator is by far the best in the series.

    I watched T3 last year for the second time. I initially had dismissed it as a fairly throwaway sequel. It’s actually pretty cool though: the twist ending is excellent, and the chase scene with the massive truck is also cool.

  2. Amen, brother.

    I’d dare to say the chase scene with the truck and such is one of, if not the best chase scene ever.

  3. Sigh. Although I can’t quite bring myself to say that you’re right about this movie I grew up loving.. I have to say, the 2 or 3 times I’ve tried watching it after I moved away to college, I found it pretty long and boring. I still consider it an epic, high budget action film, though, and I’d have to rewatch Terminator 3 (only saw it once) to be able to more accurately assess T2’s place in the series.

  4. I have to agree with your analysis of the movie. (However the name “str8 gangster” is pretty corny as well)

    I had purchased the Blu Ray Skynet edition a few days ago and was really excited to see the movie in hi-rez glory with the added scenes.

    However I was taken back at how dated and childish the movie is. I realized that the Terminator to watch IS the first movie and perhaps the third. I didn’t even have the motivation to finish the movie.

    But there is nothing like the first movie in that the Terminator WAS cold and ruthless. Not that the first movie didn’t have heart but it was something more geared towards adults I think.

    • The term Str8 Gangster, No Chaser comes from a song of mine. It’s basically me mocking all those people who think they’re tough. As in I’m not tough, because I write about movies and wrestling.

      A lot of people from our generation [born in the 80’s] stand up for this movie. I believe because they don’t want to admit it sucks. I saw this movie for the first time when I was 17, so I don’t have that child-like love for it like most do.

      Terminator 1 is the essential film, and 3 is an excellent sequel.

  5. […] since blowjobs were invented, and they’re vastly wrong. You’ve all read my rant on that https://scrublife.wordpress.com/2010/03/09/the-truth-about-terminator-2-judgment-day/ […]

  6. Bro, you spoke the truth! T2 has been rereleased by James Cameron in 3D recently for more cash grab. I wonder if moviegoers of future generations will still be interested, when all the nostalgia has died with the older generations. Even now, I’ve already lost interest in T2 or anything related to James Cameron.

    I still love T1 and T3.

Leave a comment